Our department has the ability to service your needs in multiple ways. A quick summary of policies and procedures will help you better understand the process of registering a newly purchased vehicle.

State statutes require that SALES TAX be paid WITHIN 60 days from the date of purchase to avoid penalties and interest. Even if you have no intentions of REGISTERING your vehicle, SALES TAX must be paid within this amount of time. An important note is that you DO NOT have to have a title in your name before you can pay your sales tax. You must have a title to REGISTER your vehicle. The County Clerk's office issues motor vehicle titles

Expiration tags that are issued to you on your plates and are based on the purchase month of your vehicle. If you are moving in from a different state, your tags will follow the month that you transfer in. Registrations will NOT be issued without providing proof of liability insurance. It is WYOMING law.

Specialty plates are also available.

Current Wyoming Plates - Until 2025

A generic bill of sale document is available for your convenience.
Out of State Workers
A non-resident temporarily working in the state is required by Wyoming law to obtain license plates or a temporary permit.

This temporary permit is $50 for 30 days; a customer may pay up to 120 days at a time. In order to qualify, insurance/a current registration from another state must be provided.

Exemption: Wyoming has reciprocity agreements with the states of Idaho, Illinois, Nebraska, and New Mexico. Residents of these states are not required to register their vehicle in Wyoming unless they become a resident of the state (remaining for 120 days or more), at which point they must purchase Wyoming license plates.